Louisiana Names Amoss Maritime Man Of The Year

W.J. Amoss Jr., prominent New Orleans steamship executive, has been named Louisiana's Maritime Man of the Year by the Past President's Council of The Propeller Club of New Orleans, it was announced by Roy J. Dupre, chairman of the selection committee.


EU Single-Hull Phase-Out Elicits I MO Scorn

Taking a page from OPA 90, the European Union has officially adopted its unilateral plan for accelerated phaseout of single-hull tankers. The regulation was published in the October I edition of the Official Journal of the European Union and came into effect on October 21, 2003.

Liberian Services —Consulting Firm Elects Wiswall Pres.

Dr. Frank L. Wiswall Jr., has been elected president of Liberian Services, Inc., 103 Park Avenue, New York, 'N.Y. 10017. Fred T. Lininger, former president, has assumed the new post of chairman and chief executive officer of the worldwide maritime consulting firm,

71 Countries Make IMO's Initial STCW White List

The 73rd session of the Organization's Maritime Safety Committee (MSC), formally endorsed the findings of a working group established to examine a report made by the secretary-general to the MSC, which revealed that 71 countries and one associate member

Coast Guard Urges Unified Federal Spill Response Regulations

The U.S. Coast Guard is attempting to establish federal oil spill regulations that realize the concerns of the nation's coastal states, thereby avoiding a host of individual state spill laws. While addressing the International Association of Independent Tanker Owners (Intertanko) in Genoa,

IMO Forum To Address High-Density Oil Spills

During the recent IMO 45th session of its Marine Environment Protection Committee (MEPC 45), it was agreed to hold a Research and Development Forum in March 2002, which will focus primarily on response to spills of highdensity oil. France will host the forum,

COMSAT General Elects McLucas President- Johnson Named Chairman

Dr. John L. McLucas, former administrator of the Federal Aviation Administration, has been elected president of COMSAT General Corporation, and John A. Johnson, president of COMSAT General for the past four years, has been elected chairman of the board and chief executive officer.

Maritime Transportation Is On Senate Subcommittee Agenda

Rep. Don Young (R-Ark.) has taken over the helm of the House Transportation & Infrastructure Committee, after chairing the Resources Committee for the past six years. In one of his first acts as Chairman, on January 31, 2001, Chairman Young announced

Bulker Water Ingress Alarms

Bulk carrier operators tasked with fitting water ingress detection systems on their vessels in compliance with SOLAS regulation XII/12. can start to progress their procurement plans after IMO recently defined a firm performance standard for this equipment.

CMI COLREGS command Commander commercial committee communication communications community company completion